Search This Blog

&

Upload Google Videos to YouTube

Sunday, April 24, 2011

In my previous post “Say Bye to Google Videos” I have mentioned that Google Videos is no longer available to watch since April 29 but you can download your videos till May 13.

The downloaded videos can be uploaded to YouTube. Previously Google has not provided any way to directly migrate Google video to YouTube but now Google has provided an “Upload videos to YouTube” option by which you can directly transfer your Google Video to YouTube.

According to Google...

“We’ve created an “Upload Videos to YouTube” option on the Google Video status page. To do this, you’ll need to have a YouTube account associated with your Google Video account (you can create one here). Before doing this you should read YouTube’s Terms of Use and Copyright Policies. If you choose this option, we’ll do our best to ensure your existing Google Video links continue to function.”

If people also want to download their videos from Google Videos, the download option is still there.

Say Bye to Google Videos

Monday, April 18, 2011

Google Videos
Google Videos will no longer available to watch since April 29, 2011. Recently Google, the search giant has sent an email to all users who have uploaded one or more video to Google Videos.

Google is motivating all Google Videos users to upload their videos on YouTube. From April 29, 2011 you can no longer watch your video but you can download your video till May 13, 2011. 

Initially Google Videos was launched to answer YouTube on January 25, 2005, but in October 2006 Google has acquired YouTube for $1.65 billion.  On June 13, 2007 Google Videos search results has started showing videos indexed by their crawlers, YouTube and other hosting services.

Google Videos has stopped accepting new video uploads on May 2009. After that all videos are still available and works as search function. Now Google has decided to completely close the Google Videos by deleting all the existing videos. Even Google has not given any direct way to transfer their Video from Google Videos to YouTube, but they are encouraging all users to download their video from Google Video and upload them on YouTube.

Checkout the complete email which Google has sent to Google Video users:

"Dear Google Video User,

Later this month, hosted video content on Google Video will no longer be available for playback. Google Video stopped taking uploads in May 2009 and now we're removing the remaining hosted content. We've always maintained that the strength of Google Video is its ability to let people search videos from across the web, regardless of where those videos are hosted. And this move will enable us to focus on developing these technologies further to the benefit of searchers worldwide.

On April 29, 2011, videos that have been uploaded to Google Video will no longer be available for playback. We've added a Download button to the video status page, so you can download any video content you want to save. If you don't want to download your content, you don't need to do anything. (The Download feature will be disabled after May 13, 2011.)

We encourage you to move to your content to YouTube if you haven't done so already. YouTube offers many video hosting options including the ability to share your videos privately or in an unlisted manner. To learn more go here.

Here's how to download your videos:
  • Go to the Video Status page.
  • To download a video to your computer, click the Download Video link located on the right side of each of your videos in the Actions column.
Once a video has been downloaded, "Already Downloaded" will appear next to the Download Video link.

If you have many videos on Google Video, you may need to use the paging controls located on the bottom right of the page to access them all. Please note: This download option will be available through May 13, 2011."

Google Panda Update: An Algorithmic Change to Fight against Content Farms

Friday, April 15, 2011

google panda
In February 2011, Google has launched a big algorithmic change which will impact 11.8% queries. Google Says this algorithm will help in reducing rankings of various low quality websites, like sites which use copied content, low-quality content for users and duplicate content. These types of sites are not very useful to be ranked in higher positions. On the other hand various high quality websites which use original content, in-depth information and useful details from the user’s perspective will get better rankings.

This algo update will cause a major change in the rankings of many websites. Google also cleared that this update does not depend on the feedback they have received from Personal Blocklist Chrome extension, but they have compared that Blocklist Data with the sites identified by this algorithm.

In February, this algorithm update was launched for US only and now on April 12, 2011 this algorithmic improvement is launched globally to all English language sites.

Checkout what Google said about this major update:
Today we’ve rolled out this improvement globally to all English-language Google users, and we’ve also incorporated new user feedback signals to help people find better search results. In some high-confidence situations, we are beginning to incorporate data about the sites that users block into our algorithms. In addition, this change also goes deeper into the “long tail” of low-quality websites to return higher-quality results where the algorithm might not have been able to make an assessment before. The impact of these new signals is smaller in scope than the original change: about 2% of U.S. queries are affected by a reasonable amount, compared with almost 12% of U.S. queries for the original change.

Google has tested this algorithm and found it very accurate in finding quality sites. If your site has been affected by this update, then analyze various aspects of your site. You can review Google’s quality guidelines to get helpful information about improving your site’s quality.

Google has not provided the names of any websites which went down after the effect of this algorithmic change; Google’s main focus is content farms. Through this algorithm Google will focus on websites which are content farms that uses copied or duplicate content. So if your site is using any content farm, be focused otherwise your site will be go down.

According to Amit Singhal they internally call it "Panda" (name of an engineer among the key guys who made this update possible.) Danny Sullivan of Search Engine Land is calling it “Farmer” as this algo has targeted content farms.

Google Street View Photographs must have 100% Anonymity said Swiss Court

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Recently Swiss Court demands 100% Anonymity in all Photographs of Google Street View. Swiss Court says that Google must blur all the faces and licenses in these photos, even if they have to blur them manually.

Swiss Federal Administrative Court has taken a decision on 4th April 2011 and this is one piece of them. Currently company’s automated blurring system blurs 98-99% of faces and licenses. Google has also argued that blurring by hand will be very expensive; also if many other countries followed the same rule.

After this verdict, Google’s global privacy counsel Mr. Peter Fleischer, Shared:

"We have received the court’s verdict and are currently assessing its implications. We are very disappointed because Street View has proved to be very useful to millions of people as well as businesses and tourist organisations. More than one in four of the Swiss population has used it since the service launched in Switzerland. We’ll now take some time to consider what this means for Street View in Switzerland and our appeal options."

This verdict has many other points which must be followed by Google. Formerly Google has faced many challenges and slow downs in other countries.

You can read the full Original Swiss Article also.